Personal Introduction…

Slightly apprehensive about taking my first step towards entering the world of internet blogging and social media networking, I will begin by introducing myself.  I am currently an undergraduate at Hunter College as an Environmental Studies major.  Passionate about our world, I see environmentalism as more than just a scientific, academic interest but consider it a lifestyle, a worldview and a moral base.  For me environmentalism is more than just caring for the Earth, because in taking care of the Earth I believe we are also taking care of humanity.

I titled my blog, The Nature of Women, not really sure at the moment why I named it that other than I love nature and I love women.  However, after reading some interesting and engaging works by Sherry B. Ortner, I am careful not to make a direct correlation between the two, as this has long been used as a powerful distinction made by men as a tool to create an order of hierarchy.  For anyone who may find this notion as interesting as I do, I will share my mid-term paper with you from my Women and Gender studies course last semester.  However, I especially urge you to read Sherry B. Ortner’s scholarly article, “Is Female to Nature as Male is to Culture?”.  If any of what I just said seemed a bit confusing, Ortner will make complete sense of it (or if you disagree…no sense at all).

With this, I hope to create meaning out of my title as my journey through this blog develops and as I make my presence within the social media world.  Tying my previous semester-long introduction to feminism with a new course on feminism, new-media and health, I expect to better define what each of these mean to me personally as well as what they mean to the great social world.

This entry was posted in Free Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

